Snuggled and Warm

This blanket is acrylic, which as a yarn snob I avoid at all costs, but my grandmother crocheted it for me as a Christmas present when I was a freshman in college, and I have held onto it for 10 years now. Blue and gold were my school colors at the time, and became my school colors again when I attended graduate school. Now it’s colors are significant to my line of work. It’s as if the blanket had some sort of way of knowing my future and making sure that its colors always had a place in my life.

It has followed me around for 10 years, kept me warm in my car and in my bed, and now resides on the back of a couch in our first home where it has found a best friend in Snuggle Bear. It matches nothing in the room, but we plan on keeping it there for a while. And thank goodness it’s acrylic so we can wash it and enjoy it for years to come.

Leave a Reply

