Snow


What started off as a 3 day weekend has turned into a 6 day weekend due to snow. Being from the northeast it’s pretty funny to see a small town derailed by only a few inches. Whatever the reason though, it’s been nice to have the extra set of hands around the house to keep the Bear occupied while I tackle some projects.

One of my goals this year is to become a proficient baker of bread. Armed with no experience and an old, uncooperative oven I found my first couple loaves dense and overdone on the bottom.

So I did a little more reading, bought an oven thermometer, and put together a whole wheat sourdough starter using a 200 year old sourdough strain someone gave us as a housewarming gift. While this loaf wasn’t quite perfect, it’s a definite improvement over my first sourdough attempt. Not quite so dense with a very strong sour flavor and an even doneness all around. I followed a recipe from the Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book, which is a great resource for those looking to make hearty whole grain breads of all shapes and sizes.. I think this small slice topped with butter on honey resting on my coffee cup almost looks like a little whole wheat snow cloud. 

Leave a Reply

