Choices

I like flowers and I like chocolates, but if I had to pick a favorite, chocolate would always win (see previous post for evidence). So on Monday night when we came across a recipe for cocoa rubbed steak with whiskey bacon gravy in the latest issue of Food Network magazine, well it was like fate gave us our Valentine’s day recipe. I mean really, what says love more then steak on the grill with cheesy mashed potatoes and some chocolate cake for dessert. Needless to say, we decided to forgo the diet for the evening.

Overall impressions of this recipe? I would’ve added a bit more salt to the rub which was my own fault. However, I accidentally made up for it in the mashed potatoes. The gravy was pretty thin. While it tasted great, we were expecting something a little thicker. I think next time around I’ll cut the chicken broth down by half.

Leave a Reply

