Goodbye, Old Friend

Another one of my goals this year was to get back into film photography. It seems silly to have a box full of cameras that don’t get used simply because they require film. Of course, that didn’t mean that I wanted my digital camera to simply up and die while I rediscovered film, but that’s just the way things go sometimes. I’ve had this digital camera since 2007, when I inherited it from my uncle who passed away that fall. Since then I have taken literally thousands of photographs of family events, shows, hikes, and parties. I always liked to think that it was a way for my uncle to share in the event, to carry a part of him with me through all these adventures. But like all technology, it seems the camera just doesn’t want to work anymore, and it’s time to move onto a new one. It is disappointing though, to know that I have film cameras that are 30-50 years old and still working, while a digital camera (like all things digital) has a shelf life. Below is a gallery of some of my favorite shots from over the years.

Uncle Erik and BAugust 2007

Sunset on Pamlico River, August 2007

Birthday Boy, April 2008

Carolina Pines, NC June 2008

Abandoned Piano, October 2008

Ben Nichols, Washington, D.C. April 2009

Shenandoah National Park, November 2009

With Grandma, November 2009

Sailors, August 2010

Our Honeymoon, May 2011

Tiny Bear, October 2011

Bear and Grandpa, January 2012

 

Leave a Reply

