Big Bend

A couple years ago I took a trip to West Texas. It was mostly a dud of a trip, but I did get a chance to visit Big Bend National Park. National Parks are a huge passion for me. If I discover that I’m near one, or will be traveling in the vicinity of one, I always make an effort to stop, even if it’s just for an hour for a quick hike or drive through. I’m very excited that we live pretty close to three parks and plan on visiting them all before this year is over.

Since it’s so remote, Big Bend is one of the least visited parks. It also has the unfortunate distinction of being a known drug trafficking route as it borders the Rio Grande. Nonetheless, it is one of the most beautiful places I have visited, and I hope some day I get a chance to go back and spend some more time exploring.

A quick hike on a hot November day

trail leading up to Dog Canyon

Inside the canyon

probably not the best shoes for the occasion

Leave a Reply

