Splurge

P1010685One of my goals this year is to buy more American made clothing. This is actually something I’ve been doing for a while not, but I’d like to go beyond just basics from American Apparel, and I also want to incorporate the whole family in this endeavor. After all, we spend most of our time defending this country and it’s important to us to invest in it as well.P1010701

America once thrived in textile production and clothing manufacture. Of course, this was before the days of labor laws and safe working conditions. Remember a few months back when there was news of factory fires in Southeast Asia? That sort of thing happened here too. It’s unfortunate, but in our quest to have all the latest and greatest, we often forget that our clothes are often made by people who are slightly elevated above slavery (if at all). My point is this, while often more expensive, American manufactured clothing is made by people who are being paid a fair wage and there is more transparency as to the sourcing and production of garments leading to a better connection and understanding of where our clothes come from. There’s a huge movement to do this with our food, why not our clothing as well? P1010706

I love clothes, and I used to have a closet bursting full of fast fashion from retailers like H&M and Target. Then, a few years back, I cleared out all the junk and opted for a smaller wardrobe of higher quality that I could keep and enjoy for years. I’m not saying I don’t shop at these retailers from time to time, but I find myself doing it less and less, opting instead to work more creativity into a smaller collection. I realize that to buy completely American is impractical for more Americans, especially for those of us on small incomes and with small children who outgrow their clothing faster than you can say “Elmo’s World”. It’s really handy to go to Old Navy and stock up on $10 shirts and pants. After all, we live in a global economy, but I think it’s time we demand more transparency and quality in the things we wear, as well as fairness and safety for the people who make them. Buying American can be a big and important part of that.P1010709

This coat was made by Poppy Von Frolich in San Francisco, and it incorporates pretty much everything I am a sucker for like buffalo plaid and deer motifs. I actually have a similar coat that is unlined with bracelet sleeves, making it great for fall but impractical for winter. I had my eye on this one after I saw it on Pinterest, and decided it would be a great present to myself. I love the fabric (it’s Italian wool), the swing fit, and the details. A slightly peter pan-style collar, the swing style, and the overall quality and fit . I received absolutely phenomenal customer service from Trudy, It’s refreshing to have a connection to the person who made your garment, and to know how much pride they poured into their work. She will definitely be my go-to gal next time I’m looking for a coat that will last me forever and I can feel proud to wear.

P1010702

2 thoughts on “Splurge

Leave a Reply

