Walking Around: Northern Liberties

Did I somehow manage to spam my own blog with my Polyvore creations? Oops! Looks like I forgot to turn off that “share on WordPress” feature. Now you all know my deep dark secret. I build outfits late at night when I am up feeding the Cub. Then I spend an inordinate amount of time window shopping for shoes on Zappos. Anyway, now you know. I’m glad I got that off my chest.

Over the weekend I had brunch with some girlfriends in the Northern Liberties section of Philly. This is a neighborhood that has been in transition for several years now, and there’s still a ton of construction going on. One of the oldest sections of the city, NoLibs was once home to great deal of industry which is now being demolished in favor of new construction. Walking around you get a mix of old, modern, modern made to look old, and a lot of great places to eat and browse around. Since I parked so stinking far from the cafe, I took some snaps with my iPhone as I made my way through the narrow streets and navigated past all the construction. Most photos have been edited using VSCOcam.

 
New old
NoLibs Feb 2014

Murals abound all over the city
NoLibs Feb 2014
NoLibs Feb 2014

I love the brick
NoLibs Feb 2014

Hidden Roof Deck
NoLibs Feb 2014

Ironwork like this is getting harder and harder to come by
NoLibs Feb 2014

I’m obsessed with green lately
NoLibs Feb 2014
NoLibs Feb 2014

Alleyway
NoLibs Feb 2014

NoLibs Feb 2014

This reminded me of ketchup and mustard
NoLibs Feb 2014

Transforming
NoLibs Feb 2014

In high school I came here with a couple friends. It was a jazz bar back then, and we felt super classy even though it was kind of a dive.
NoLibs Feb 2014

Here’s what is looks like around back. I love the typography, I’m sorry to see it go.
NoLibs Feb 2014

NoLibs Feb 2014

I love this door. It’s green. Also…new haircut
NoLibs Feb 2014
 

Leave a Reply

