Wardrobe Architect: Week 12

UntitledWeek 12 of Wardrobe Architect was probably posted a month ago, but it coincided with what felt like the busiest month of the year so far. This week we’re talking about accessories, which are pretty much my favorite. As I’ve gone through these exercises over the past few months, I think it’s pretty obvious that I like to keep my style really simple. I want my closet to be filled with classic pieces that I can wear year round by changing up the layers. Of course, that can get a little boring sometimes, so I keep everything fresh with accessories. From a maker stand point, I love accessories because they are almost always quick and easy projects to execute. From a consumer standpoint, I look at my accessories as investment pieces. Your clothes may not always fit but your bags, scarves, and shoes usually will. Accessories are also way more portable than clothes, and as someone who has to move every 3 years, they make the packing process a little easier.

Accessories can be a little dangerous though. It’s really easy to just walk into any fast fashion store and get everything from scarves to earrings to shoes for under $20 a piece and the next thing you know, you’ve got a closet full of uncomfortable shoes and a box full of earrings that make your lobes itch every time you wear them. Their low price point makes them attractive to folks who want to try out trends but don’t want to drop a lot of coin doing so, and as a result we have landfills full of this poorly made crap. Anyway, I’ll get off my soapbox because I am totally guilty of having tons of crappy shoes and costume jewelry, ect ect. In recent years, I have gotten rid of most of those cheaper things and started to favor buying quality pieces that will last for years. To that end, last summer I noticed that I’m missing a lot of staples, like a nice pair of dressy sandals, a good leather tote, and some lightweight cotton scarves for nights like tonight where it’s cool, but not wooly cool. So, this year I’m investing in my accessories. This means nicer shoes, leather handbags, and some lightweight scarves. I’m going for things that I really love and will keep and wear for years to come.

The scarf in the lede photo is from Blockshop Textiles. I had spotted it on a couple of blogs before Christmas, and it was definitely on my wish list, but I wasn’t quite ready to commit to the price tag. Then it sold out, and I realized that I missed out on a really great piece that I would get so much use out of. It came back and then sold out again almost immediately. Finally, around my birthday it was available for preorder and I pounced. Blockshop hand prints these scarves in India and each one is little unique. I love mine, and now that their spring collection is out, I may have my sites set on another great pattern. The belt is from Banana Republic back when I worked there, and it’s hiding a multitude of postpartum body sins. I’ve also become a big fan of wearing glasses. I’ve gotten my last 3 pairs from Warby Parker (I’m wearing the Linwood). I have two that I switch out from time and time, and I’m thinking of getting a pair of sunglasses.

I also recently bought this tote from Annie Williams. I love it! It’s similar to one Madewell makes, but the leather has a beautiful hand, and it has a zipper. It was definitely my major accessory purchase for the year and I know I’ll have it forever and ever.

 

Leave a Reply

